I Aten’t Dead – A New Book

Oh, hello.  Didn’t see you there, amidst all the dust.  Well while you’re here, stay and read a while.

This blog’s been a bit dead, but I haven’t.  The bad news is that, after this post, it’s probably going back into hibernation for a while: but this time, it’s definitely coming out of it.  It’s coming out of it with a bang.  If you’ve read and enjoyed Faerie Eleison, or even if you just enjoy my writing style outside that work, it’s a bang you’ll want to be around for.

And I can tell you when that bang will happen.

First, some context.  Right now, in July, I’m doing Camp NaNo.  I’m editing The Kingdom of Light…, whose creation progress was detailed in these very pages, using a book called Into the Woods by John Yorke.  If, like me, you struggle with structure and pacing, I would cautiously recommend it.  It’s very telly-and-film-focussed, but its principles can mostly be applied to books.  It’s made me a lot more sure of where my novel’s going and when it’s going there, even if I don’t necessarily think it takes comedy into account.  Its biggest downside is that it isn’t called Into the Words, but you can’t have everything.

Bottom line is, TKoLiDaR looks completely different from my November/April creation, even before I put virtual pen to virtual paper.  That’s a very good thing.  And I want to use what I’ve learned.

For me, Camp isn’t going to stop in July.  In August, I’m going to carry on working on TKoLiDar, perhaps even putting virtual pen to virtual paper this time.  At the very least I want to get the middle scene, the Festival of Darkness, down.  That’s the one I’m most sure about, most excited about.

But what about the rest of the year?  I can’t work on an existing work in November.  Rules are rules.

Well.  In September, I’ll finally be taking a break from all this writing and stuff.  Maybe do some music.  Maybe just have the evenings to myself.  Who knows.

In October, the gloves come off.  I’ll be rigorously planning my November book: characters, plot, world, scenes, all using the techniques from Into the Woods.  I want to do all the hard work in October and sweep through November, like a glorious chariot dragging flaming words behind me, on into December.  The idea’s to write a short punchy novel that’s not much over 60k words in length, that will be fun to write – and hopefully to read.

In December, there’ll no doubt be some finishing off of the word count.  But I’ll also be going back and speed-editing it, for consumption in January.

Yep.  Come January, I will have another book to post in segments on here, and on my Wattpad, like I did with Faerie Eleison.  My own characters this time, and better plotted, but the same style.  So if you liked Faerie Eleison (and hopefully if still you’re around here you at least thought it had salvageable aspects), you want to be back here, in January, for my next book that I don’t even know the title of yet.

I don’t know if I’ll be commissioning Emily, my artist from back in the day, to do some art for this one.  I might do.  It depends whether I can still afford her.

In summary:

July – editing TKoLiDaR (Camp NaNo)
August – starting to rewrite TKoLiDaR
September – no writing, ahhhhhhhhhh…
October – planning the new book
November – writing the new book (NaNoWriMo)
December – finishing the new book
January – showing you the new book
February – you go tell everyone else how the new book is the greatest thing ever and that they should all read it right now
March – this is the most popular site on the Internet?

Leave a comment